Interpretations

A very worthwhile bit of reading here. Be sure to click through and show some love to The Silent Eye.
Thank you to Sue Vincent for posting this on her blog, The Daily echo, https://scvincent.com/2017/03/05/interpretations-2/, otherwise I might not have discovered it.

The Silent Eye

cartoon Grammar

“ … the standard translation of one of the chief scriptures of China refers to the venerable Lao Tse as “the Old Boy”. This sounds comical to European ears, yet it is not so far removed from the words of another Scripture which has been fortunate enough to receive translation at the hands of those who reverenced it; “Except ye become as a little child.” I am not a sinologue, but I incline to the opinion that the translation “Eternal Child” would have been equally accurate and in better taste.” Dion Fortune

Dion Fortune’s comment in The Mystical Qabalah struck me when I first read it, more decades ago than I care to remember. Nothing unusual there, as what I learned from her teachings over the ensuing years has shaped and informed my thoughts and personal journey since my grandfather gave me that book when I was fifteen. I still…

View original post 752 more words

2 thoughts on “Interpretations

Leave a Reply

